Skip to content

A long-ish run for me

February 26, 2012

Workout: 5 miles

I woke up this morning around 6. I got dressed, ate some pre run fuel and was out the door by 7. I left my house down to the beach, I had mapped this route out last night on mapmyrun.com. I was feeling good the whole way there. Once I got to the beach, my legs started feeling week and my hip started to feel tight. I stopped a bit and stretched it out. Long story short, I got a ride back home from my husband. My plan had been to turn around and come back for a total of 10 miles.

I know, I know. 4.75 miles...but I round up to 5 🙂


When I got home I foam rolled and it hurt so good…if that makes sense.

My daughter loves the foam roller too..although I'm not sure why


Overall, even though I didn’t run my full 10 like I should have I still feel good about it. Its the longest I have ran by myself, just me, my ipod, and the road. My long runs usually have a group of runners with me, maybe not right beside me, but they are running the same course. That right there is what helps me keep going. When I know someone in my group is feeling the same thing and fighting the same mental fight, it almost makes me feel weak to stop.

Tomorrow, I am going for another 5 miles. Last week daily mile told me I did about 12-13 miles. I was SLACKING last week, big time. I didn’t push myself when I knew I could and I didn’t just keep going when I knew I could. This week will be different. I’m going for 20 miles. I also have a 15k race this Saturday. I just have to focus on doing this for me. I need to push myself each time. My week will look something like this:

Monday: 5 miles
Tuesday: 4 miles in the A.M and track workout with SDTC in the P.M
Wednesday: Strength in the A.M and running with Roadrunners Sports in the P.M (6 mi.)
Thursday: 8 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: Sue Krenn 15k with SDTC
Sunday: Strength in the AM and some bike riding

See ya soon!
<3, Vero

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

