Skip to content

Been a little down lately..

February 25, 2012

It’s been awhile since I blogged and I think it has to do with the fact that I have been a little down. The funny thing is that I am not sure why. My running has not been up to par. I overslept today and didn’t meet the SDTC for the 2 hour long run. Sometimes I worry that this marathon wasn’t a good idea after all, I feel I have this mental block. Lately, I set out to run 5-6 miles by myself during the week and end up only running 3.

There are many reasons that this can be happening, but part of me feels like it is because after learning of Sherry's death, I became a worry wart. It was all over all the blogs I follow and I even did a run dedicated to her. Now, at times I can be naive. I know there are bad people in this world and I know that a lot of the times bad things happen to good people simply because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time. However, I can honestly say that when I started this marathon journey I didn’t think something like this could happen to me, but it can. It happened to Sherry, someone who didn’t deserve it and didn’t think she would be robbed of her life that day. I know this shouldn’t discourage me, but maybe thats why I won’t go on long runs alone. I want to be stronger, mentally and physically. I want to complete this marathon. BADLY. And I will dedicate this week to Sherry.

This week I am going to focus on longer distances and not worry about my pace. Since I missed today’s long run, I am going to set out and do it tomorrow.

Today was a normal saturday (except for the missing my long run part). I took my daughter to the park and came home to a nice little snack
I’ve given up soda for lent, so I’ve been drinking water, seltzer water, and one cup of coffee a day. It’s only been about 3 days, but I feel great about it!

I’m off to get ready for work! I promise to be around more, update this more, and in turn you guys will keep me on track.

<3, Vero

One Comment leave one →
  1. Griselda permalink
    February 26, 2012 5:35 am

    I wish I could run with you! I am such a beginner but I promise to step my own game up! I will work harder so we can break through those mental blocks! Karate-CHOP!!!! 🙂 I love you and think you are incredibly courageous…good luck on your run tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

